My First Buyback Autograph

Buyback Autographs are hands down my all-time favorite type of autographs when it comes to collecting. I’ve seen some monster Jose Canseco buybacks from Topps, Donruss, and Leaf but to this day have never really been able to pull the trigger on any of those cards due to the insane prices those cards reach when they surface on eBay. Don’t get me wrong, I love collecting Jose Canseco baseball cards but I love being able to pay my rent on time and feed my daughter even more.

I’ve been collecting Jose Canseco since my first-ever card way back in 1990 from Topps Ames and it took me nearly half a decade to pick up my first buyback auto. As far as buybacks go, this 1992 Leaf is on the low end of the spectrum. This particular year was nowhere near the hit ’90 Leaf was and today these cards are pretty much relegated to “junk wax” status. Still, it’s a great card which features a nice design with a memorable photograph.

To add to the obvious appeal, there is an on-card autograph, hand-signed serial numbering, and a Leaf stamp. What caught my eye about this card, however, was the price point. When I found it on eBay, there was just one bid at around a dollar. Thanks to Gixen sniping services, I set it for $20 and walked away. Two days later, I was the proud owner of my first Jose Canseco buyback autograph for exactly $20 dollars, not counting sales tax.

It’s not the famous 1986 Donruss Rated Rookie, his 1987 Topps “gold cup”, or even a buyback autograph of Leaf’s greatest accomplishment from 1990 but it’s a good start and for a 25 year old collection that’s been around for what seems like forever now that we enter another year, it’s about damn time I finally own one of these. I for one can’t wait to see what other cards come out of Leaf Trading Cards in 2015. Leaf continues to be my personal pick for a true contender to the Topps/MLB throne.

1

Categories: Leaf Trading Cards | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

