David Vs. Goliath (Hobby Edition)

I can’t remember how long it’s been but I have been waiting a long, long time for a Canseco card in Allen & Ginter. How desperate was I to see my player in Topps’ beloved set? So desperate that I commissioned a custom card maker to create one, which turned out adequate. Still, nothing beats the real thing. Just ask Upper Deck (Goodwin Champions), Tristar (Obak), and soon Panini America (Diamond Kings).

Needless to say, I was absolutely thrilled Jose was finally included in 2014 Allen & Ginter. Well, that is until I saw the card, which featured the same, awful photo Topps used in 2014 Topps Archives. It worked well in Archives because it was a real photograph and it used Topps’ 1989 flagship design, which was a personal favorite of mine. However, I was hoping for something better in Allen & Ginter.

In the same package from CheckOutMyCards, I also had an “oddball” card from 1992 called High-5 which looks eerily similar to one of those early-90s Upper Deck cards. Here we have a card (actually a decal) that no one in their right mind would remember or care to that easily knocks my more expensive and esteemed Allen & Ginter on its ass.

I have no idea who the people behind these High-C cards were but they produced at least one, great decal. Okay, maybe two (the other one wasn’t as cool). The card itself looks great and features an awesome photo. Despite being extremely thin and not even being a real card, it sweeps the floor with Topps’s official, licensed card from Allen & Ginter.

So … which of these cards looks better to you?

Categories: The Hobby, The Topps Company | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

