My Experience with COMC

Since returning to collecting last month, I have done something I rarely do … spend money. Maybe it’s because I am much better off today than I was during Wax Heaven’s initial run or maybe it’s because I am excited to be back. Whatever the case, I decided to try out COMC after a two-week, 4-win streak on eBay which resulted in three certified autographs.

The reason I wanted to give COMC a shot is because I wanted more than a card or two at a time. With eBay, you will almost always get a lower price but bringing home a bunch of Jose Canseco cards to my collection all at once was just something I couldn’t resist. In the end, I chose 63 different cards for a total of $184.89. All in all, I was out about $200 dollars (long story).

The reason for the high price is due to my selection. Sure, the “oddballs’ and base cards were pretty cheap but then came all the SPs and parallels, serial numbered cards, and ultimately a handful of memorabilia cards which came at a higher than I wanted to price. Most of the cards appeared to be Beckett-priced, so it was fun when I found something for half of that.

As for payment details, I paid by credit card on February 17th (end of the day) and received my package in a very safe and protected receptacle on February 23rd (paid extra for shipping but not much). The cards were absolutely gorgeous. Could I have gotten all 63 for less than $200? Yes, easily. I used COMC to save time and I am happy with the results, for the most part.

Below is a list of my top 5 cards from the 63-card lot, as well as runner-ups.

The Runner-Ups

These are my favorite cards from the lot which didn’t crack the top 5. Included are cards from Allen & Ginter and its wanna-be challenger, Goodwin Champions. There are two reprints of iconic Topps cards, one being extremely thick and the other being Chrome. There is also a loud and obnoxious Pacific Trading Cards piece which is fun and brings back some memories.

Finally, there is the Upper Deck Power Driven insert, which is a personal favorite of mine and one card that I seem to have misplaced over the years so I bought it again. I pulled a Mike Piazza back in 1996 out of a pack and found out it booked for $40. Needless to say, even in 1996 I didn’t get anything close to it in trade value but it’s still one of my favorite inserts of all-time.

Card #5 – 1999 Topps Chrome, Refractor

So as it turns out, aside from the ’93 Finest Refractor, arguably the best one to own, I don’t have a lot of Canseco refractors. I’m working on changing that which is why I jumped at the opportunity to own this one, from 1999 Topps Chrome. It features Jose with the Blue Jays, running the bases. That year, 1998, he hit 46 home runs and stole 29 bases at the age of 34. He would somehow be out of baseball by 2001. It cost me just $5.25. There are no recent eBay sales, so this is a definite win-win for me.

Card #4 – 2013 America’s Pastime, Combo Swatches (#125)

I wanted this card for a couple of reasons. For one, it’s from Panini America, a company who has been putting out new Canseco stuff for a few years now. The card features two boring game-used relics and a strange photograph. I paid $10.25 for this card, probably more than I should have since there is a similar one on eBay that sold for $1.99. Lesson learned? Absolutely. Fun card to own, yes … even if I overpaid.

Card #3 – 1998 Leaf Fractal Matrix, Copper

This is a card from a set I didn’t bust a lot of during its release because I had moved on but at some point or another I probably opened at most, two packs. I love the photo of Jose swinging a broken bat, the over the top Leaf design that screams its decade proudly, and the copper, Superfractor-like finish. ALthough the card is not serial numbered and there are better parallels from this brand, I can’t beat the $3.25 I spent on it.

Card #2 – 2014 Topps Archives, SP

I absolutely love this card. It features a photo of Jose in his prime (although it’s not the best picture), pays tribute to 1989 Topps, a flagship year I was practically raised on, and is a short-print. This is selling between $4-$6 on eBay. I paid $3.70. It’s a shame they used this same photo for Jose’s first ever Allen & Ginter card. That was extremely disappointing for me and shame on Topps but beggars can’t be choosers.

WINNER – 1998 SPx, Spectrum #’d to 2,250

I’ve been a fan of Upper Deck’s SPx line since its debut in 1996. Holograms were apparently all the rage so the technology was used exclusively by U.D. in its debut and the following year but by 1998 they veered way off that path and into high-end, thick and fancy card. The results are below.

For less than $4,00, I couldn’t be more happier. This was, essentially, Upper Deck in their prime and although Topps was killing the competition with Chrome and Refractors, clearly, Upper Deck was putting up one hell of a fight. This card cannot be appreciated by a simple scan so I will shoot a little video later to show why it’s such an awesome card.

Categories: The Hobby | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “My Experience with COMC

  1. Have you checked out justcommons.com? It may not be as helpful to a player collector, but as a team collector I love it. Free shipping on orders over $10…a nice incentive to order a bit more.

  2. I’ve got the gold version of that Canseco Future Stars that never were if you’re interested in a trade.

  3. Hell yes! Is it numbered? Who do you collect?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

