A Great Day at the Big Top Flea Market Card Show!

Last month, I wrote my review of the Big Top Flea Market Card Shown which was nothing short of raving with joy over finally finding some kind of card scene in Southwest Florida. Currently, I live in a city with over 3 million and there are zero card shops. It’s depressing and leads me straight to eBay only territory.

Last month, I spent a good 2 hours scouring through boxes trying to find a single Canseco and failed miserably. Today, I went with my hyper-active 4 year-old daughter. I was expecting disaster but instead, I was surprised as almost every vendor had one or more Jose Canseco cards on their tables!

Below is my score, which I overpaid for but I had no problem with because it’s great to be able to talk with other collectors in person and not through PayPal complaint forms or in forums full of angry, bitter card addicts. I’d gladly spend a little more to avoid that.

Cards picked up:

2003 Topps 205 – $10 for a relic card, I must be insane. What really worries me is that the more I look at it the more I get this sinking feeling that I already own it. It’s not just that I may already own it but that’s it’s really unattractive as cards go.

1995 Pinnacle Artist’s Proof – This is a big card, which was in a .50 cent box. This card probably has a ridiculous Beckett “book value” but let’s get real, it’s 1995 Pinnacle. I was happy to hand the vendor a dollar bill for it. It’s my favorite card of the day and a card that is not easy to come by.

1997 Donruss Press Proof – I hate this card and photograph. However, I only have the base version and needed it for my collection. I overpaid dearly for it as it cost me $5 dollars but again, I was happy for a little interaction and every Canseco I snatch up means more on tables for next month’s show.

2015 Topps insert – I can’t say much about this card, which I paid a dollar for. It’s lazy and the photo is embarrassingly blurry for a product from 2015. I couldn’t see myself paying more than a dollar for this thing and with eBay + shipping I was looking at close to $4. This is a huge win for me.

*Bonus*

1996 Emotion – This card came from an eBay win. It’s just a base card despite its beautiful appearance. I had this card, pulled from a retail box of Emotion in 1996 but unfortunately it has come up missing so I had to replace it.

There you have it, five new cards added to my collection of over 1,100 and for less than $25. I could have spent the money a little more wisely but I am happy with my experience and I’m dying to see what I find next month. If you live anywhere remotely near, stop on by.

So after leaving the card show in Tampa, I did a quick little search and found out that the house and neighborhood that was used for the motion picture, ‘Edward Scissorhands’ was just 17 minutes away. I couldn’t resist seeing the house used for one of my all-time favorite films.

The house is located in a development called ‘Carpenter’s Run’ in Lutz, Florida and is very easy to find. There was a community yard sale going on which made it easier to snap a quick picture of the iconic neighborhood made famous by Johnny Depp and Tim Burton.

Overall, it was another great show. I am definitely coming back next month and will hope to find even more Jose Canseco treasures. It’s an hour an fifteen minute drive but thanks to the friendly vendors and positive attitude, it’s quickly becoming a favorite hangout for me.

Categories: The Hobby | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Great Day at the Big Top Flea Market Card Show!

  1. Congratulations on your five new additions to your Canseco PC. Although I pride myself on being a bargain bin kind of guy… I don’t have a problem with overpaying for a Gwynn card I need.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

