What Happened to Fresh Ideas?

Below is a beautiful card pulled from a box of 2015 Historic Autographs. It features an immaculate, on-card autograph of Yankees legend, Mickey Mantle. Wait, didn’t Mickey die in 1995? How could he have signed this brand new, 2015 baseball card? I mean, even the slab says it is from this year. What gives? Did Mantle fake his own death to avoid paying his gambling debts?

Okay, here’s the story. The card is really a 1981 Perez Steele postcard, which was signed at some point. All Historical Autographs has done is pasted their fancy, little borders and taken them in to be encapsulated. For around $100 dollars per box, you’re gambling your money away hoping for a Mantle when you’re more likely to find 87 other guys.

It seems like card companies (the lesser-known ones) are making their money by re-packaging old, forgotten products and selling them back to collectors for a premium. Leaf Trading Cards has basically been buying up all their 90s junk wax cards, adding stamps, serial numbering, and autographs and selling it back to collectors instead of focusing their efforts on new, innovative products.

There are also several companies putting together super high-end products with 7-10 cards per box, along with memorabilia for thousands and thousands of dollars per box and doing quite well, if YouTube box breaks are any indication. It seems no one is willing to take a chance at creating something new, instead, we are getting repackaged products at every turn.

Products like these and others are the reason why I support Topps Company and Panini America so much. Say what you will about both companies but at least they are still creating new products every single year. As much as I love the past and collecting for nostalgic reasons, it’s still good to be blown away by something new from the big two.

Categories: The Hobby | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “What Happened to Fresh Ideas?

  1. Mike V

    And I’d rather have the fully encapsulated auto than the frankencut auto you’d find in any pack of cards. The company who removed this from it’s case and cut it should’ve just put out redemptions for the whole auto.

  2. Very well said. I find it getting much tougher to motivate myself to even add these repackaged cards to my wantlist. As a player collector (and a completist) I’d like to chase anything and everything, but these piece of pure uninspire make me question “What’s next?”

    In a time where the sky should be the limit, there’s far less creative motivation and way too much duplication.

    Sad.

  3. I’m totally with you on the “fresh ideas” and supporting Topps. However… I gotta admit the framed/matted Mantle card looks pretty awesome. It reminds me a few bloggers out there who take original cards and make them look cooler with customs.

  4. James McCay

    Plus many of these encased postcard autograph, and encased cut autograph “card companies” are SMALL and release a couple of products a year. How can we trust ANYTHING they release? They’ve been around for 5-6 years, but only very limited releases. I wouldn’t want one of ANY of these cards in my collection.
    I decided in 1999 that if I can’t get a Certified On Card Autograph Insert from a BIG card company who has never purposely released forgeries (like Upper Deck did), then I don’t want them in my collection. You as the collector have ALL THE POWER in your purchasing. If no one bought these stupid HA autographs, they’d have no market and would go out of business.

    You’d have a better chance being PATIENT and collecting 1980’s Perez/Steele (serial numbered) Autographed loose Postcards. Just because these postcards are limited and nearly all were autographed in the 1980’s-early 1990’s. The number of forgeries on these is far less than other mediums. I just bought a Perez-Steele Bob Lemon and Billy Herman HOF postcards on eBay for $5.00 each. I’m a trained Forensic Document Examiner, so I fully examined them when I received them. Both are 100% authentic. Why in the world would I pay 10-20X that price to have a questionable item from Historic Autographs?

    Autograph collectors need to <<<>>> (like I did at my own expense) or deal with your misfortunes. I scan eBay for forgeries all the time and I still can’t believe how many autograph collectors automatically think an autograph is real just because it comes with a COA??? All you have to do is type the info: name of business, and/or name of person mention or signed on COA with the word FORGERY in Goggle and see if they’ve been blamed for selling forgeries many times before. Plus you’ll also find if the business is OUT OF BUSINESS for many years, or the owner is nowhere to be found which makes the COA/LOA not worth the paper it’s printed on!

    James

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

