2015 Topps Museum Collection Review

To be eligible for all the cards featured in this review, leave a comment with your favorite and least favorite thing about Topps baseball cards. The winner will be chose at random and cards will be delivered at my expense.

For the very first time, I have the privilege of busting open a box of 2015 Topps Museum Collection, a product which wasn’t around during the final days of Wax Heaven. At just under $200 per box, it’s one of the only high-end products I have reviewed and easily one of my all-time favorites and while it did deliver one hell of a punch, I did have some concerns as a collector that I will discuss in my review.

Design: A+

Simply put, 2015 Museum Collection is Topps’ very best product of the year. Design-wise, it blows away their flagship, Heritage, Tribute, and the yet to be reviewed, Gypsy Queen. As far as the competition, so far it’s only 2015 Donruss Baseball and that too doesn’t stand a chance. When Topps is on their game, they are impossible to beat.

On a personal level, Museum Collection has put out some of the greatest Jose Canseco autographs I have ever seen, all on-card and all featuring new and different photographs per card, something that’s a rarity these days. It’s one of the reasons I love this year’s Museum Collection so much.

Price: C

Right now, boxes of Museum Collection will run you just under $200 dollars for 20 total cards. Don’t get me wrong, the cards look absolutely gorgeous, as does the design of the hits and even the parallels but at that price range we should be getting a product that features 100% on-card autographs and with at least 10-15 more cards, if not a chance for a bonus 5th hit every other box or something similar.

I’ve watched countless case breaks of this stuff on YouTube as well, which not only leaves me feeling quite envious, but a bit sad for those collectors as cases are running for big money right now and unless you’re an eBay expert with lots of time on your hands and extreme luck, you’re leaving a lot of money on the table. Game-used relics just don’t bring in the kind of money they used to.

Inserts/Hits/Parallels: B+

Here is where this product shines. Out of 20 cards, I pulled six serial numbered cards and 4 big hits. My favorite card was the Nomar Garciaparra autograph which looks amazing and happens to be on-card, plus is numbered to 59. I also pulled a three-piece relic/auto (sticker) numbered to 349, a 4-piece relic numbered to 99, and a jumbo relic. No patches in this box but that’s fine because I’m seeing them pulled quite frequently on YouTube and social media.

Overall: B

To me, Museum Collection absolutely blows away Topps’ Triple Threads line. Although it’s not as high-end as T.T, I would pick Museum Collection over that overrated product any day of the week. The design is magnificent, the cards are thick, and you’ll end up with four big hits and several serial numbered cards. As a collector, paying nearly $200 for a box of 20 cards is no longer reasonable to me but the high-end gamblers love this product and for a good reason.

For my own collecting needs, I will, when the time is right, start bringing in the several Jose Canseco cards into my collection when prices have come down a bit. Even if you can’t afford to bust boxes of new product or anything high-end, right now is the greatest time in the world to be a player collector thanks to eBay and other online sites that are helping so many fulfill their collecting needs.

 

Categories: The Topps Company | Tags: , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “2015 Topps Museum Collection Review

  1. The best thing–knowing Topps will be there year after year in all their iterations
    The worst thing–all the parallels

  2. Andy

    Hey Mario! Completely agree with the assessment on Museum Collection.

    Traditionally I’m not (never) a fan of high-end Topps due the over-the-top pricing and no guarantee of a big hit to come near the value of what you paid for a box in the first place.

    That said, Museum Collection is THE best high-end set that Topps produces year in, year out! I had a Matt Kemp quad relic from the 2012 set that I gave away through my old blog and I was always impressed with the thickness and quality of the card itself. It’s a trend that’s continued over the years and Museum always seems to add a few extras that you don’t see in other products… Such as the Canvas Collection and (up until recently) the framed cards, which now appear in other products too!

    Tribute, Tier One, Triple Threads, et al, don’t come anywhere near Museum as far as I’m concerned!!

    As for what I like about Topps – well I’d just have to saw that they know how to produce great looking and highly desirable cards. You can often get the ‘wow’ factor from something in each product – whether it;s a huge hit of a HOFer or even just a beautifully captured image from a base card!

    As for what I don’t like – Too much high-end is my main gripe (out of the reach of your average collector) although recently it’s been quality issues. The chipping on this year’s Gypsy Queen has been a huge travesty!!

    Cheers, Andy

  3. My favorite thing about the Topps products today is undoubtedly the designs. They have improved every year with their overall quality of the products, and I absolutely love how they have moved towards mostly on card autos in recent years! However, I’ve had a lot of issues with their customer service and they are often very slow to respond to my emails. I’ve had redemption issues time and time again with them and one of them has been unsolved for over a year and a half for cards I bought in 2012.. otherwise I still support Topps products for the most part; I just hope to avoid redemptions as much as possible. Thanks for the contest, this is so nice of you!

  4. CK

    Hi Mario,

    These do look like nice cards. I’m with you; for $200 a box for only 20 cards, that’s quite a gamble. I’m not a big gambler like that, so I like to wait for the secondary sales on ebay to pick up the cards I want. I think Museum and Triple Threads can have nice relic cards, even though I know they don’t bring in the value they once did. I have some nice relic book cards from TT that I just like having in my collection, regardless of value.

    What I like about Topps: I like the tradition and heritage (no pun intended) of Topps. I like that they have (seemingly) been around forever and should continue to stay around for a long time (hopefully forever). Just like it’s comforting to know, that during the cold, snowy winters here in PA, baseball always comes back; Topps baseball cards always come back. They’re always there to entertain me, comfort me and take me back to my youth nostalgically. I like that they blend old players with current players – I love classic card reprints – seeing the guys I grew up watching as a kid helps keep you young; players before my time take me back to a simpler time. And while I love nostalgia, I like how Topps continues to innovate and come up with new ideas and themes every year; they continue to keep things fresh, even after 60+ years.

    What I dislike about Topps: Simply put, the de-emphasis on the flagship base and traded sets. As a kid who started collecting in the ’80s, I loved how the base set and traded set were it. That’s what you collected, and you knew that that would have the rookies and “the” cards to have for a particular year. Now, it’s so hard to tell what a guy’s rookie card is. Take Trout; is it his ’11 Topps Traded card? Or did the Bowman Draft ’11 come out first? Well, he had some earlier Bowman cards, as far back as ’09, but they were chrome, autographed and limited, right? So, does that count? Maybe it only matters to the individual collector, but I liked how you used to know that the base set or traded set was where you were going to find a player’s first card. Today, the base set has been devalued with all the inserts, short prints, chrome and pre-rookie releases of certain players/prospects. I like a nice insert as much as the next guy, I just wish there was a way to re-instill more value and demand to the base set, like it used to be.

  5. Alec

    Favorite: I’m really excited about the creativity Topps has (mostly) been putting forth. The set designs look great, and they’ve added and returned some product lines that are wonderful.

    Least favorite: I’m not a fan of the repetition between sets, as many share the same subjects and the same photos.

  6. Favorite: The fact that Topps can and does pull on its wealth of history in baseball cards. From past designs to older players.

    Least favorite: Today at least it’s the re-use of old photos. Tom Seaver had the exact same photo on his Gypsy Queen card for 3 straight years from 2011 to 2013. It’s even more unforgivable for current players.

  7. Offy

    My favorite thing about Topps is the history that they have. No other company can come close to this.

    My least favorite thing has been the over reliance on retired players, rather, the same retired players over and over again. You only see new players pop up in Archives which makes that set a lot of fun.

  8. I sort of like Museum Collection — I even got one of these boxes last year. It’s just too many “high end” sets are available generally.

    My favorite thing about Topps is their history. When people outside the hobby think of baseball cards, they probably think of Topps. The printing processes these days do a better job of avoiding the miscuts and off-centered cards from days past, so the quality has gotten a lot better.

    What don’t I like about Topps? I don’t like the unequal treatment of teams in Topps’s products. The “big” teams — Dodgers, Yankees, Mets, Red Sox — get many more cards across sets than the “lesser” teams like the Twins, the Brewers, the Royals, or the Indians get. I hate the ridiculous number of parallels that Topps issues every year. Parallels can be fun but there are just too many. Finally, I feel like there are just too many Topps-issued sets generally. Archives overlaps with Heritage, Gypsy Queen and Allen & Ginter share the same nostalgic space, the base set design gets used in multiple products…and don’t get me started on the reuse of photos for both current and retired players.

    Strangely, though, I still enjoy collecting cards! 🙂

  9. Mike b

    I love Topps for being as long lasting as they have been. They have fought off many challenges over the years, and still they survive. They are the only throwback to the past…..

    Downside is that they do seem to create the most parallels of every card ever. This makes it tough for folks trying to collect all the cards of a player, and I guess that is their point, but it sure makes for some long waits to complete your want list.

  10. Mike V

    I love Topps for getting people to say that they hate them yet those same people plunk down money all the time for more cards.

    I hate Topps for coming out with needless parallels just to force people to buy more cards. See why I love Topps.

  11. Great review!

    My favorite thing about Topps? Vintage. Acquiring beat up vintage from the stars of yesteryear.

    Least favorite? The monopoly. I miss the competition! I miss Pacific and (the real) Leaf and Donruss and Score and even Pinnacle Inside.

  12. My favorite thing about Topps is their rich history. I’ve been collecting Topps cardboard since 1977 when my mom purchased my first pack of Star Wars trading cards. A few years later I started collecting baseball cards and for the most part, they’ve been my go to company.

    My least favorite thing about Topps is their MLB monopoly. Competition would lead to higher quality products.

  13. Chris Miller

    I haven’t really had much experience with Topps Museum but I have watched a few breaks. I was really considering getting a box but ended up going with High Tek which I have to say is probably my favorite series as of right now. Before that it would have been Bowman Chrome. I enjoy the way they look. The Kolten Wong you pulled is a very nice card but that is probably due to the fact I am a Cardinal fan. Platinum was the first product that I pulled a Cardinal card which was a Shelby Miller Prospect card. I agree with the others about how we all hate the monopoly. Without competition you tend to slack off and you don’t give it your all. I would love to see more companies producing license baseball cards. I also don’t like how when they produce a top selling product the next year they destroy everything that people enjoyed because they think they know what people want.

  14. As a whole, I don’t care for high-end products. They caters to an exclusive group of collectors, and completely ignores the majority of baseball fans/collectors. I could argue that most cards do that anyway – kids can’t really buy packs anymore and high-end products just add to the belief that card collecting is really a business/investment and has no heart. Many companies put out a ton of high-end sets, some without base cards!

    I like that Topps does seem to be listening somewhat to those of us who don’t care much for book value… at least in some ways. It was great to see some of my favorite brands continue or be resurrected – Stadium Club provides a nice non-retro product (whatever happened to those?) and I continue to enjoy Allen & Ginter and Gypsy Queen. And with the Stadium Scenes and First Pitch insert sets, there’s something a little different that’s still baseball.

    Many have mentioned the monopoly, but I think even before that Topps (and other companies) have not put that much effort into creating interesting sets. Really, the simplest of topics can make for a good selection of annual inserts (award winners, all stars, league leaders, etc). Topps has essentially issued four types of sets for the past several years: the flagship, the high-ends, the throwbacks, and the Bowmans. Have some fun with the insert and set concepts. Fleer put out some totally fun inserts in the 1990s, and those “gimmicks” of the 1990s (acetate, wood, and metal cards, for example) were at least more creative than “let’s try to add more relics and autographs to this piece of cardboard”.

  15. Sport Card Collectors

    Great review!

    My least favorite, I like the bad news first, is their customer service and interaction on Twitter. I think out of three years following and many Topps posts, only two RTs. And I have struggled getting responses in the past on questions I have had and emailing them
    I didnt like my responses lol.

    My favorite, Chrome. Is there anything honestly better than anything Topps puts Chrome on?! I have been collecting Chrome since 96!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

