Is This the Last Baseball Card I Buy in 2015?

Maybe.

This is a 2014 Topps Tier 1, on-card autograph numbered 087/299. Interestingly enough, the photo used on the card appears to be from the 1987 season meaning that my card is now a 1/1! Okay, I take that back. There’s no such thing as an eBay 1/1. It’s all BS.

Anyway, this card was won on eBay three weeks ago but wasn’t paid off until early last week and finally arrived today. As far as Topps cards go, it’s one of my least favorite as the design lacks a lot of pizazz and the thickness of the card, serial numbering, and on-card auto just doesn’t do much for me. However, for less than $15, it’s hard to pass up.

Last week my income tax check was deposited into my bank account. It was bigger than any I’ve ever received. I was driving around in a absolutely trashed 2001 Camaro for two years and with all that cash in my hand I had an option of picking up the iconic Jose Canseco Donruss Crusade (and many more goodies) or treat myself to something much more important, a new car.

In the end, I chose to put my collection on hold and got myself a brand new Chevy Camaro SS. Jose Canseco would be proud. So for now, this card joins my collection and is officially my 1,112th different card and unless I pull any base cards in upcoming Topps products, it may very well be the last one of the year. As much as I love collecting … I think I’d be okay with that. At least I’ll always have Wax Heaven.

Categories: The Topps Company | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Is This the Last Baseball Card I Buy in 2015?

  1. You made the right decision. Congrats!

  2. Remember – I’d still like to trade for the gold “Future Stars that Never Were” if you’re interested. That’s not “buying” a card 🙂

  3. Sport Card Collectors

    You made the smart and right choice. There is also always trading too!

  4. Congratulations on the epic purchase! I just hope you stick to blogging about cards… instead of cars 😉

  5. Lets see pics of the new ride!

  6. My baby and my daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

